comment 0

Wholeheartedly

If you have been following this blog, you know I have been challenged with the “reasons” to continue creating, as off-balance as that sounds.  I have produced a number of abstracts,

Abstracts

just to stay loose, while I wait for guidance on how to complete the “Heart and Soul” mandala.

I decided to return to mandala work, just for grins,  began work on a piece beginning August 21st, and as it progressed, I noticed that all of the hearts in the painting were obscured a little bit.  I started thinking about what I give my whole heart to, and even more so, all the things I don’t.  I titled it “Wholeheartedly”.

wholeheartedly-color

Now let me back track and say a few days earlier, I met with my school counselor about direction on courses and was excited to hear about the possibility of an internship.  I have been very focused on getting a J-O-B, and it has been difficult to invest in my painting work, now that I have surrendered to the reality that it cannot support me financially.  We had a very in-depth discussion, she is a very intuitive person and one of her recommendations was that I seek out the book “Daring Greatly” by Brene Brown.  I promised to do so.

A few days AFTER completing the mandala, I went on Amazon (please don’t judge me) to order the book and happened to read some of the reviews while I was there.  I was gobsmacked to read Ms. Brown quoted by E. White, “Vulnerability is the core, the heart, the center of meaningful human experience.  Vulnerability is the prerequisite to living what Ms. Brown calls the wholehearted life.”  And reviewer Heather Saffer adds, “Vulnerability leads to happiness or wholeheartedness.”

Herein dwells the magic of the mandalas.  Somehow they are gatekeepers, translators, facilitators, helping me mine and process information from the quantum field in a way that really works.

 

 

Filed under: Creative Living, Ebb and Flow, Healing Art, Loss, Mandalas, Map Making

About the Author

Posted by

As a Phoenix native, Vikki Reed's vibrant watercolors of desert botanicals evolved from her love and appreciation of the desert's ability to produce tender beauty in the midst of harsh conditions. The mandala series which began in 2004 resurrects a childhood knowledge that mandalas are a primordial tool for centering and healing. Vikki studied in the 1980s with watercolor greats Irving Shapiro and Paul Kuo, and began exhibiting at the outdoor shows in Arizona, Nevada and New Mexico after Paul's encouragement. This led to gallery representation with the Wickenburg Gallery and Work of Artist's Gallery. Vikki also exhibited at the Celebration of Fine Art for eight years. Before taking sabbatical to act as caregiver for her father in 2010, Vikki was featured in a one woman show at the Northern Trust Bank in January 2008 and was selected to create an ornament for the White House Christmas Tree that same year. Vikki's current focus, the Mandala Series, combines ancient symbolism and the healing power of color.

Leave a Reply

