comment 1

The Part That Knows

After nearly forty years of procrastination, in September of 2015, I summoned the courage to see a guidance counselor for direction on returning to school and soon had enrolled in two classes.  Choices were limited as I was signing up so near the beginning of the semester, in fact some classes had already begun. I chose Mindful Self-Compassion, a stress management course (who doesn’t need help with that!) and Creating College Success, as I knew I would need to re-learn study skills.

The Monday that began week three of classes, I received an e-mail with the Brad Yates EFT video of the week, (I get this e-mail weekly and it directs me to You-Tube for a tapping round.)  The auto-play after Brad’s video was an interview with Julia Cameron, author of “The Artist’s Way” which I have heard about for many years. She spoke of re-awakening and enhancing both intuition and creativity with the use of three simple tools, one of which is the “Morning Pages”, three pages of hand-written script on any subject to be written daily. I thought it was a small investment that could have a great yield, so I began the practice that day.

A few days later as I was in the middle of my daily Qi-Gong practice, my gaze was directed to a book on the shelf a few feet in front of me. When practice was complete, I went to the shelf and retrieved the book, “The Artist’s Way” by Julia Cameron!  The book describes a twelve week program and certainly it seemed time to begin, I would start week one on Monday, (which would be the fourth week of my classes). I was astonished to find that the curriculum for all three courses pointed directly to the same material; examining the destructive effects of self-criticism  and self-judgment, exploring the victim and creator mindset, and suggesting new practices to employ when self-talk has become damaging and depleting, and the victim mindset has entrenched itself.  Mindful Self-Compassion offers the opportunity to acknowledge shortcomings and failures in a more accepting way, which actually provides greater incentive for positive change.

It is a beautiful reminder that the Divine Mind has a loving influence on the course of my life,and that when I quiet myself and listen to “The Part That Knows”, the most amazing adventures unfold.

The Part That Knows

The Part That Knows

Filed under: Creative Living, Healing Art, Mandalas

About the Author

Posted by

As a Phoenix native, Vikki Reed's vibrant watercolors of desert botanicals evolved from her love and appreciation of the desert's ability to produce tender beauty in the midst of harsh conditions. The mandala series which began in 2004 resurrects a childhood knowledge that mandalas are a primordial tool for centering and healing. Vikki studied in the 1980s with watercolor greats Irving Shapiro and Paul Kuo, and began exhibiting at the outdoor shows in Arizona, Nevada and New Mexico after Paul's encouragement. This led to gallery representation with the Wickenburg Gallery and Work of Artist's Gallery. Vikki also exhibited at the Celebration of Fine Art for eight years. Before taking sabbatical to act as caregiver for her father in 2010, Vikki was featured in a one woman show at the Northern Trust Bank in January 2008 and was selected to create an ornament for the White House Christmas Tree that same year. Vikki's current focus, the Mandala Series, combines ancient symbolism and the healing power of color.

1 Comment so far

Leave a Reply

