comments 2

Guidance and Direction

Guidance Mandala

Guidance Mandala

This has been a big week for me.  I started school and finished the “Guidance Mandala”.  Both of these occurrences may seem commonplace, but they represent rather notable milestones for me.

My college career will start slowly, with two courses, one sorely needed at this time, a stress management course titled, “The Mindful Art of Self Compassion”.  Already it is apparent to me the wounds inflicted by my harsh self judgment, as was pointed out in class, many of us speak to ourselves in a cruel tone that we would never use toward another.  I look forward to adding self compassion to my life management tool box.

After several months of analysis paralysis, I continued the “Guidance Mandala” in the only way that made sense to me, after so many other design options failed to satisfy.  The compass is a complete departure for me and this mandala looks different to me than all previous creations.  I am not comfortable with it visually, but it makes complete sense to me in other ways.  The very center features the lotus, a symbol of awakening and peace.  It represents stillness, the spirit, soul consciousness, as I have mentioned before, “be still and know”.  The bees are representative of the mind, always busy, building, connecting, creating, surviving.  The compass is very solid, the physical body component, the real world, reality, direction as received from the world that surrounds us.  Body, mind and spirit, all three necessary for the current life experience.

This mandala journey has been deeply challenging and equally as rewarding.  I came to the conclusion that after being on life support the last few years, I should let my business/art career die a natural death.  I feel great relief, mixed with deep sadness, as well as excitement and curiosity about what the future will bring.  I started back to school in part to learn about who I am becoming (although there are plenty of other ways that is happening!)

As Joseph Campbell wrote, “We must let go of the life we have planned, so as to have the life that is waiting for us.”

Filed under: Creative Living, Healing Art, Mandalas, Map Making, Mythic

About the Author

Posted by

As a Phoenix native, Vikki Reed's vibrant watercolors of desert botanicals evolved from her love and appreciation of the desert's ability to produce tender beauty in the midst of harsh conditions. The mandala series which began in 2004 resurrects a childhood knowledge that mandalas are a primordial tool for centering and healing. Vikki studied in the 1980s with watercolor greats Irving Shapiro and Paul Kuo, and began exhibiting at the outdoor shows in Arizona, Nevada and New Mexico after Paul's encouragement. This led to gallery representation with the Wickenburg Gallery and Work of Artist's Gallery. Vikki also exhibited at the Celebration of Fine Art for eight years. Before taking sabbatical to act as caregiver for her father in 2010, Vikki was featured in a one woman show at the Northern Trust Bank in January 2008 and was selected to create an ornament for the White House Christmas Tree that same year. Vikki's current focus, the Mandala Series, combines ancient symbolism and the healing power of color.

2 Comments

  1. Pingback: Heart Activation | Magical Mandalas

Leave a Reply

