comment 0

With a Little Help from My Friends

With a Little Help from My Friends

With a Little Help from My Friends

A few nights ago I was treated to an interesting reflection on the counter and I was charmed enough to take a photo.

Angel Image

Angel Image

As they say, “art imitates life” and I felt the urge to incorporate the “angel image” into a mandala.  There are four angels in the piece, heads toward the center, connected by a golden diamond shape.  The angel wings overlap and outstretched hands with palms facing up, touch lightly.  Spiral/wave shapes are prominent, signifying ebb and flow, the natural cycles of life.

While in the mandala process, there is always time for reflection and I found myself considering one of my less productive patterns…feeling as though I have to single-handedly slay the dragons with the weight of the world on my shoulders simultaneously.  Did the angel image come to remind me that there is help ever at the ready and all I need to do is ask?  (Okay, ask and lay down my weapons).  The title of the piece suggested itself to me and I felt affirmed in my awareness that life is much more pleasant when I remember that I am not all alone.

As often happens, the synchronicities continued as a recording was suggested to me, and I came across a You-Tube video, each praising the benefits of remembering the assistance available (in the less visible realms).

You may be one that doubts the presence of angels, or helpers in the non-physical realm.  I don’t seek to change your mind.  As for me, I will be having a lot more conversations with mine, both in the manner of requests, and offering up gratitude, for prayers answered and reminders of grace.

Filed under: Ebb and Flow, Healing Art, Mandalas

About the Author

Posted by

As a Phoenix native, Vikki Reed's vibrant watercolors of desert botanicals evolved from her love and appreciation of the desert's ability to produce tender beauty in the midst of harsh conditions. The mandala series which began in 2004 resurrects a childhood knowledge that mandalas are a primordial tool for centering and healing. Vikki studied in the 1980s with watercolor greats Irving Shapiro and Paul Kuo, and began exhibiting at the outdoor shows in Arizona, Nevada and New Mexico after Paul's encouragement. This led to gallery representation with the Wickenburg Gallery and Work of Artist's Gallery. Vikki also exhibited at the Celebration of Fine Art for eight years. Before taking sabbatical to act as caregiver for her father in 2010, Vikki was featured in a one woman show at the Northern Trust Bank in January 2008 and was selected to create an ornament for the White House Christmas Tree that same year. Vikki's current focus, the Mandala Series, combines ancient symbolism and the healing power of color.

Leave a Reply

