comments 2

Introspective

Introspective-web” Introspective”  began with a meditation.  Once again, I received impressions which were written down immediately following the meditation…mushrooms, footprints, ladders, apples and stars.

On consulting the Signs and Symbols Sourcebook, I learned the following, “mushrooms have magical properties within them seeming to provide a gateway to another world”, and in Chinese mythology, mushrooms are one of the sacred foods eaten by the Immortals.  The Agaric mushroom was said to only grow during times of peace and prudent leadership.  When I googled Agaric mushrooms, the images I saw sparked a memory of one of my earliest paintings, a 2″ X 3″ miniature with…mushrooms!

IMG_1971

This tiny painting was done in 1971.IMG_1972

The significance of this will be lost on most, but it came as affirmation to me that I have been “plugged in”, guided if you will, for quite a long time now.

The mushrooms became the center of the mandala.  Footprints encircle the mushrooms, inferring direct connection with  the earth.  The ladders stretch out from there, an aspect of the relationship between heaven and earth, symbols of ascension, transcendence and the fulfillment of potential.  The apples show up next, signifying the desire to soak in knowledge from a variety of sources.  The stars border the piece, representing friendship and support.

The mandala process comes through once again to demonstrate that when I can quiet my mind enough to listen, the most amazing material comes through, offering reassurance and confirmation that connection is always present.  There is a thread of grace, continuity and blessing running through my life, regardless of the pain, chaos and darkness that has been occupying much of my attention in recent years.

There is an increasing sense that support is always available, that I am on the right path, even if I cannot see the road up ahead.  I trust that I am to continue painting, sharing and teaching, and my prayers that   my work might bless all who come in contact with it are being answered in the most loving ways.

Filed under: Healing Art, Mandalas, Mythic, Retrospective

About the Author

Posted by

As a Phoenix native, Vikki Reed's vibrant watercolors of desert botanicals evolved from her love and appreciation of the desert's ability to produce tender beauty in the midst of harsh conditions. The mandala series which began in 2004 resurrects a childhood knowledge that mandalas are a primordial tool for centering and healing. Vikki studied in the 1980s with watercolor greats Irving Shapiro and Paul Kuo, and began exhibiting at the outdoor shows in Arizona, Nevada and New Mexico after Paul's encouragement. This led to gallery representation with the Wickenburg Gallery and Work of Artist's Gallery. Vikki also exhibited at the Celebration of Fine Art for eight years. Before taking sabbatical to act as caregiver for her father in 2010, Vikki was featured in a one woman show at the Northern Trust Bank in January 2008 and was selected to create an ornament for the White House Christmas Tree that same year. Vikki's current focus, the Mandala Series, combines ancient symbolism and the healing power of color.

2 Comments

  1. jane darrah

    I love the honesty and clarity in this commentary….Yes, I remember those early days..You are blessed indeed..Also want you to know that I am thrilled to have some of your earlier paintings..one hangs over my bed…trusting your spirit of creativity will hover over me and release creativity in me….Ahh! Yes we are all connected..in some spiritual way we are all relatives. Your fresh new work really speaks to me and brings me joy..

Leave a Reply

