comment 0

“Declaration”

"Declaration" in color

“Declaration” in color

“Declaration” began as something of an “I’m coming out” piece.  2015 was going to be my year.  I hired a marketing strategist to help me rescue my art business.  The mission was to “elevate my brand” and the marketing pitch had me dreaming of wonderful success and satisfaction.

A new logo was top of the list and the decision was made to use my signature.  From there, the project ran off the rails and the promised website re-vamp, publicity photos, re-branding, appearances and social media management I invested in were never delivered.

“Declaration” was to be my way of committing to see the project through on my own.  It begins in the center with my signature, prominently featured.  I enjoy the color combinations as the design expands out and the signatures repeat on the border.  The mandala features the number nine which symbolizes completion.

Between conception and completion of the piece,however, my eyes were opened to the truth that my contribution may be something other than my artwork.  Perhaps the reason this journey has been such a struggle is that I’ve been chasing the wrong rainbow.

The mandalas are incredible teachers.  I am always astounded by what I discover while they are in process.  Part of that effect comes from quieting the mind enough to be receptive.  “Modern life is fast and furious, triggering instinct which keeps you on guard”, says Colette Baron Reid, “With intuition, there is access to a greater field of information where average, everyday things suddenly take on greater meaning”.  I know the value of becoming still in order to gain access to the rich abundance of material, just waiting to be explored.

Perhaps, rather than sharing my own mandala journey and the discoveries that are made, I am to be guiding others to the mandala process so that each may experience their own epiphanies.  I am much more comfortable in my role as an artist, but the vision of others enjoying this same fascinating and enlightening experience is tantalizing.  From “The Mandala Book – Patterns of the Universe”, “The pattern of the mandala is an integrated structure organized around a unifying center, a sort of storybook describing aspects of the world in which we live”.

Looks like the path is going to change again…I declare “I’m ready!”

Filed under: Healing Art, Mandalas

About the Author

Posted by

As a Phoenix native, Vikki Reed's vibrant watercolors of desert botanicals evolved from her love and appreciation of the desert's ability to produce tender beauty in the midst of harsh conditions. The mandala series which began in 2004 resurrects a childhood knowledge that mandalas are a primordial tool for centering and healing. Vikki studied in the 1980s with watercolor greats Irving Shapiro and Paul Kuo, and began exhibiting at the outdoor shows in Arizona, Nevada and New Mexico after Paul's encouragement. This led to gallery representation with the Wickenburg Gallery and Work of Artist's Gallery. Vikki also exhibited at the Celebration of Fine Art for eight years. Before taking sabbatical to act as caregiver for her father in 2010, Vikki was featured in a one woman show at the Northern Trust Bank in January 2008 and was selected to create an ornament for the White House Christmas Tree that same year. Vikki's current focus, the Mandala Series, combines ancient symbolism and the healing power of color.

Leave a Reply

