comments 5

Confessions of a Narcissistic Blogger

"Declaration" Black and White

“Declaration” Black and White

 

When blogging was first suggested to me, it was dismissed as just another item on a too long to-do list,  but the fact that mandalas always come with a story and illustrate lots of tales and truths as they are created, made the idea irresistible, I and started to blog in 2007.  Unfamiliarity with the process and impatience (I kept losing my way to where the blog was located on the computer) along with my Mom dying and lots of other difficulties, brought a swift end to my writing career.  I kept painting, but ceased blogging.

In 2013 I started again, with WordPress this time, and bookmarked the location so I could find it when it was time to write.  Life was still incredibly challenging in a myriad of ways and I found time to be a huge issue, with scarcely enough for painting, but I managed to publish a post or two.

Now in 2015, I am trying to re-ignite my art career after other responsibilities have receded.  My boys are out on their own for the most part, my Dad (for whom I provided care-giving and business management) has joined my Mom in a better place.  I am looking to replace my gallery of 23 years which closed in December, update my website (a virtual ghost town), connect on Facebook, Twitter, Pinterest, Instagram, LinkedIn, keep up an Etsy store, blog, oh…and paint.

I had the amazing good fortune to attend the WordPress Press Publish event this weekend in Phoenix and I discovered, much to my dismay, that I am a Narcissistic Blogger.  I listened to genuine and inspiring writers such as Russ Crandall,   The Domestic Man  and Katherine Fritz,

I Am Begging My Mother Not to Read This Blog, Emily Austin of The Waiting , and Kathy Cano-Murillo , The Crafty Chica, and felt my mission change completely.

I have been blogging, but not reading posts or connecting with others, missing out on perhaps the greatest gift blogging has to offer, the chance to bond with a community of passionate, funny, intelligent, creative, inquisitive, and innovative beings.

My desire has been to share content that is beautiful, inspiring, provocative and brilliantly written, when in fact, my life is often ugly, messy and painful, and I feel discouraged, overwhelmed, creatively barren and inept.  Gratefully, my eyes have been opened to the value of courageously sharing what is authentically true, and been made aware that my flaws, failures and stumbles can serve as gifts of connection and encouragement.

I realize now that there is more  value in unmasking the Divine Imperfection shining and humming inside all of us constantly and consistently, rather than seeking to dazzle  with the beauty that (I hope) I have created.

“Declaration”, shown above in black and white, will have color added to it and I will publish in a few days.  In the meantime, I will be stepping up to the WordPress Banquet and serving myself a heaping portion.

 

Filed under: Blogging

About the Author

Posted by

As a Phoenix native, Vikki Reed's vibrant watercolors of desert botanicals evolved from her love and appreciation of the desert's ability to produce tender beauty in the midst of harsh conditions. The mandala series which began in 2004 resurrects a childhood knowledge that mandalas are a primordial tool for centering and healing. Vikki studied in the 1980s with watercolor greats Irving Shapiro and Paul Kuo, and began exhibiting at the outdoor shows in Arizona, Nevada and New Mexico after Paul's encouragement. This led to gallery representation with the Wickenburg Gallery and Work of Artist's Gallery. Vikki also exhibited at the Celebration of Fine Art for eight years. Before taking sabbatical to act as caregiver for her father in 2010, Vikki was featured in a one woman show at the Northern Trust Bank in January 2008 and was selected to create an ornament for the White House Christmas Tree that same year. Vikki's current focus, the Mandala Series, combines ancient symbolism and the healing power of color.

5 Comments

  1. Hi Vikki. I was at Press Publish Phoenix too and it truly was an amazing event! While I know we didn’t spend much time connecting there, I do recognize your picture and am happy to know that you are in the area. I look forward to our paths continuing to cross and I’m eager to check out your art! Please visit me anytime you want to connect with another blogger. I’m at familylovedoesmore.com . All my best to you and yours.

Leave a Reply

