comments 4

Super Vision

Super Vision web

The idea of the “Guidance Mandala” was percolating mid February 2015, but I was stalled by not finding my photo reference for what I believed the central image should be (a lotus with mirrored reflection in water).  Searching through my photo library for the image took me on an emotional journey, but that is a story for another time.

Life currently offers many distractions from painting, many responsibilities vying for attention, and when I allow this nonsense for too long I begin to feel disconnected and unbalanced.  I carved out some time to paint and began a “small” mandala (8″X8″) deferring my frustration with the “Guidance Mandala” for another time.

The small mandalas can be delightfully free-flowing and the image of an eye for the center came to me right away.  I reflected on the last few months of eye-opening experiences and felt affirmed by the mandala acknowledgement.  Violet flames crackle below the eye, burning away karma, and above the eye, rays of light offer a new and broader perspective.  A green horizontal line makes a clear delineation between past and future.

Surrounding the central image are what appear to be shark’s teeth, cutting through the illusion.  Nine rays reach out and create nine more eye shapes, this time softer and less defined.

Eighteen Phoenix Birds border the piece, symbolizing a new birth after the fire and dissolution of the old life, the limiting patterns and perceptions that have fallen away.

Words from a recent conversation with a dear friend (just completing her certification as a Trauma Release Exercise Provider) surface in my memory.  She said, “I’m getting supervision”, but what I heard was “I’m getting Super Vision”!

I realize that this mandala is all about “Super Vision” which is of course, another way to say “Guidance”.  The solution to the puzzle provided itself through the mandala process, and these words were given to me as well, “The less urgent you feel about needing to know the answer, the more quickly the answer will reveal itself to you!”

Filed under: Healing Art, Mandalas

About the Author

Posted by

As a Phoenix native, Vikki Reed's vibrant watercolors of desert botanicals evolved from her love and appreciation of the desert's ability to produce tender beauty in the midst of harsh conditions. The mandala series which began in 2004 resurrects a childhood knowledge that mandalas are a primordial tool for centering and healing. Vikki studied in the 1980s with watercolor greats Irving Shapiro and Paul Kuo, and began exhibiting at the outdoor shows in Arizona, Nevada and New Mexico after Paul's encouragement. This led to gallery representation with the Wickenburg Gallery and Work of Artist's Gallery. Vikki also exhibited at the Celebration of Fine Art for eight years. Before taking sabbatical to act as caregiver for her father in 2010, Vikki was featured in a one woman show at the Northern Trust Bank in January 2008 and was selected to create an ornament for the White House Christmas Tree that same year. Vikki's current focus, the Mandala Series, combines ancient symbolism and the healing power of color.

4 Comments

  1. jane darrah

    This speaks volumes to me….the imagery, process, thoughts….WOW!..especially since I have been gifted with a corneal transplant….Is it for sale? Or perhaps in some “copied” form?? I so appreciate your giftedness..Keep on…

    • Jane, thank you, yes, it is for sale and also will be available in print. I will be sure to let you know when prints are ready, I will be ordering the 5″x5″ metal, which are currently very popular!

      Also, thank you for your encouragement, I intend to keep on, it is so affirming when the creative energy flows through in this way!

      • jane darrah

        Vikki…thanks for your reply…How much is this original? And the 5×5? I think my w wonderful eye Surgeon Dr. Ann would like one too…let us see
        what will work! Do you still teach art classes??

  2. Jane, the original is $200.00, unframed. The 5″X5″ metals will be $20.00 each (with stand included) when I get them in stock.

    Not currently teaching, but hope to again in the future!

    Thanks!

Leave a Reply

