comment 0

“Bloomers”

Bloomers-web

The last three (small) mandalas (“Solar Flare”, “Cool Change” and “Bloomers”) have featured the same shape, an unfurling spiral, making me think of the expression, “Here’s the wind-up, here’s the pitch!”  This builds excitement in me for what is sure to reveal itself in the coming days.  “Bloomers” is very spring-like, and there is a lighthearted energy with it.  As titles for this mandala suggested themselves to me, I reviewed “Unfurling” and “Ready to Blossom”, before my final decision of “Bloomers” which delights me as I find a sense of humor returning.

The mandala begins with a tiny mandala, a central shape which is repeated again at the conclusion of the piece, suggesting the cyclical nature of existence.  Leaves sprout from the central shape and blue petals form a blossom.  Nine pink flowers (lotus?) rest in a cool blue background with the unfurling shapes behind them.  An eye forms the potential bud for a new blossom.

All the mandalas are journeys for me, the small ones (8″ x 8″) keep me creatively fluent between the larger projects.  I am encouraged by these recent pieces as I see signs of new, more joyful chapter in my life.  I am approaching the year anniversary of the loss of my Dad (March 7, 2014) and during the same year, I had to say goodbye to my sweet canine companion Miss Katie, and remove my paintings from no less than three galleries, who sadly closed their doors forever.  It has been a year of grief and growth, a cocoon year with much darkness.

Now the season is changing and I am encouraged.  I know there is considerably more to do as I continue to discover even deeper wounds that reveal themselves in order to be accepted and healed.  Fortunately, the grief journey has brought me new compassion, new tools and I begin to feel more resilient.  As always I am grateful for the gift of the mandalas and the comfort and guidance they offer.

Filed under: Healing Art, Mandalas

About the Author

Posted by

As a Phoenix native, Vikki Reed's vibrant watercolors of desert botanicals evolved from her love and appreciation of the desert's ability to produce tender beauty in the midst of harsh conditions. The mandala series which began in 2004 resurrects a childhood knowledge that mandalas are a primordial tool for centering and healing. Vikki studied in the 1980s with watercolor greats Irving Shapiro and Paul Kuo, and began exhibiting at the outdoor shows in Arizona, Nevada and New Mexico after Paul's encouragement. This led to gallery representation with the Wickenburg Gallery and Work of Artist's Gallery. Vikki also exhibited at the Celebration of Fine Art for eight years. Before taking sabbatical to act as caregiver for her father in 2010, Vikki was featured in a one woman show at the Northern Trust Bank in January 2008 and was selected to create an ornament for the White House Christmas Tree that same year. Vikki's current focus, the Mandala Series, combines ancient symbolism and the healing power of color.

Leave a Reply

