comments 3

Let It Bee – Conclusion

Let It Bee-final-web

“Let It Bee” mandala is complete, a mere month after it began, a month of opportunities to practice “letting it be”.

Creating each mandala is similar to a semester in school, I am challenged, stretched and compelled to research and study, discuss and report my discoveries.

I write in the mandala journal January 19th, “Over time I seem to have developed a crippling intolerance for the unknown.”  Two days later I see this quote from Eckhart Tolle, “Being at ease with not knowing is crucial for the answers to come to you.

As I wonder why there is a peace symbol in the center of the mandala, the Daily Word post for January 23, 2015 assures, “Peace emanates from my calm center.”

Most significant, as I near completion of the mandala, I find an article about an overwhelmed caregiver learning mindfulness and meditation, (“Where Love Is”, Robbie Pinter, Guideposts January 2015).  As I read her discovered wisdom, “It’s okay, I don’t need to fix this”, my entire being breathes a sigh of relief, and the core lesson of the mandala lands.  My compulsion to rush into action when I perceive a “problem” makes it’s full strength known to me.  It is exhausting to feel the (inappropriate) responsibility to solve each dilemma that comes into view.  From cleaning a smudge on the window (easy!) to responding to the plight of our threatened bee population (what can be done??) I feel an urgency to take action.

I become more aware, it is not that I am never to take action, but that I must withdraw and re-balance before doing so.  As luck would have it, I was sent a video presentation by Meredith Davis, Sedona healer, during the mandala creation, in which she shared the profoundly effective practice of simply closing your eyes, and breathing in to (and out of) your heart center.  From this space, the urgency melts, there is an absence of judgment, worry and fear.  A few moments re-prioritizing in this way bring immense relief and greater wisdom.  I wonder if this is why the hearts are so prominently featured in the mandala.

To watch the mandala come to life, https://www.youtube.com/embed/qTf1Ld8XVDE

Filed under: Healing Art, Mandalas

About the Author

Posted by

As a Phoenix native, Vikki Reed's vibrant watercolors of desert botanicals evolved from her love and appreciation of the desert's ability to produce tender beauty in the midst of harsh conditions. The mandala series which began in 2004 resurrects a childhood knowledge that mandalas are a primordial tool for centering and healing. Vikki studied in the 1980s with watercolor greats Irving Shapiro and Paul Kuo, and began exhibiting at the outdoor shows in Arizona, Nevada and New Mexico after Paul's encouragement. This led to gallery representation with the Wickenburg Gallery and Work of Artist's Gallery. Vikki also exhibited at the Celebration of Fine Art for eight years. Before taking sabbatical to act as caregiver for her father in 2010, Vikki was featured in a one woman show at the Northern Trust Bank in January 2008 and was selected to create an ornament for the White House Christmas Tree that same year. Vikki's current focus, the Mandala Series, combines ancient symbolism and the healing power of color.

3 Comments

  1. solarbeez

    As a natural beekeeper, I can see a parallel in the lesson of the Let it Bee Mandala. So many beekeepers think if they see the dreaded varroa mite in their hive, they must act fast. They will want to eliminate the varroa mite by killing it. But if you are poisoning the varroa mites, you’re also poisoning all the other mites, ones that might be beneficial, upsetting the ecology of the hive. I say, “let them bee.” Let the bees take care of the mites. It won’t happen immediately, but in the end, the bees will adapt to surviving, poison-free.
    Thank you for including the bees in the mandala. It’s interesting to me that you can start a mandala without knowing in advance what it will look like, that thoughts, conversations or events can influence it so much, almost like a stream of consciousness.

  2. Thanks Solarbeez! Your natural beekeeping helped inspire the mandala! I hope the mandala will help inspire a more tolerant approach to beekeeping and many other aspects of life.

  3. Pingback: Let It Bee | Adventures in Natural Beekeeping

Leave a Reply

