comment 0

Transitions Mandala

Image

The “Transitions Mandala” began December 7, 2013, with some urgency as I contemplate the “next assignment” for my Dad who is journeying through dementia.  The guidance was direct, begin with roses (four), a bud, adolescent, full and spent, with an eternity symbol at their center.  Next, broken hearts and the (Native American) symbol for day and night.  The paths begin and there are tears (pain) and angel figures (joy).  More spirals again symbolizing eternity.  The butterflies and dragonflies developed and the dragonflies rise up out of a more horizontal spiral and through a more abstracted heart.  There are tiny dragonflies bordering the piece.

As always the mandala provided me with many insights, among them, that transitions are a natural and necessary part of life and that resisting or denying them creates unnecessary complexity and struggle.  My need to know the twists and turns that await in the road ahead simply impedes my progress.  I don’t enjoy the experience of “being in between”, I discovered I have a completion addiction that does not serve me well, and I am aware that what I am seeking is not to be found without a major shift in perspective. To paraphrase Dan Millman, “As we realize we are already free and perfect, nothing is needed to complete or fulfill us, we are already Home.”  I would love to achieve this…

When I am nearly finished with the mandala, a page from the Daily Word falls out of my mandala journal, from January 28, 2013, with the following wise words…”I don’t need to know when or how circumstances will change.  I simply open my heart to the presence of the Divine here and now.  Strengthened and at peace I move forward with my life”

I am insecure about having chosen yellow as the background of the piece (even though I initially felt clearly guided to that choice).  It occurs to me that even though the center of the mandala is somewhat somber and realistically rendered, the piece evolved with dreamier images and the yellow brings an element of joy, intimating that with enough time and higher perspective I will learn to celebrate transition.

 

 

 

 

 

Filed under: Healing Art, Mandalas

About the Author

Posted by

As a Phoenix native, Vikki Reed's vibrant watercolors of desert botanicals evolved from her love and appreciation of the desert's ability to produce tender beauty in the midst of harsh conditions. The mandala series which began in 2004 resurrects a childhood knowledge that mandalas are a primordial tool for centering and healing. Vikki studied in the 1980s with watercolor greats Irving Shapiro and Paul Kuo, and began exhibiting at the outdoor shows in Arizona, Nevada and New Mexico after Paul's encouragement. This led to gallery representation with the Wickenburg Gallery and Work of Artist's Gallery. Vikki also exhibited at the Celebration of Fine Art for eight years. Before taking sabbatical to act as caregiver for her father in 2010, Vikki was featured in a one woman show at the Northern Trust Bank in January 2008 and was selected to create an ornament for the White House Christmas Tree that same year. Vikki's current focus, the Mandala Series, combines ancient symbolism and the healing power of color.

Leave a Reply

